Skip to main content
Image of Richard Pinel, Director of Music
Photo: Andrew Wilkinson

Choir staff and Organ Scholars

Director of Music - Richard Pinel

Richard Pinel took up the post of Director of Music at Jesus College, Cambridge in 2017. Prior to this he spent nearly eight years as Assistant Director of Music of St George's Chapel, Windsor Castle, during which time he gained international recognition as an organist. He also held similar posts at Magdalen College, Oxford and Perth Cathedral, Australia and the organ scholarship of St Albans Cathedral and Magdalen College, Oxford. Read Richard's full biography.

Tel: 01223 339474

Choir and Chapel Administrator – Alice Kane

You can contact the Choir and Chapel Administrator about concerts and the choirs.

Tel: 01223 339699

Senior Organ Scholar – Jordan Wong

Jordan Wong was born in 1996, and is the Senior Organ Scholar of Jesus College, Cambridge, where he is in his second year reading Classics. His daily roles include accompanying the two choirs, assisting with the training of the choristers, and sometimes conducting services.

Born in Hong Kong, Jordan had some organ lessons at Ying Wa College, before going to Monmouth School in 2009. At Monmouth, he was the Malcolmson Organ Scholar for four years, studying with David Lawson. There he played and sang for chapel services, accompanied and occasionally conducted the Chapel Choir. During his schooldays, he also regularly played for Sunday Eucharists at St Peter's Church, Dixton. Jordan was a singer and a répétiteur for the School's Choral Society, covering great works such as Mozart's Great Mass, Bernstein's Chichester Psalms and Borodin's Polovtsian Dances. Jordan had been involved in the premieres of pieces commissioned by the School, such as Colin Mawby's O God of Battles, and The Truth Sent from Above by Alan Bullard, which he conducted last December.

He is an Associate of the Royal College of Organists, and has played in venues such as St John's College and Trinity College, Cambridge, St David's Cathedral, as well as the Basilica of St Nazaire et St Celse in Carcassonne. He currently studies with Gordon Stewart. Apart from the organ, Jordan has also been a keen pianist from the age of three, and has performed Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No.1with the Wye Sinfonia at the Wyastone Concert Hall.

Tel: 01223 766973

Junior Organ Scholar – Dewi Rees

Dewi Rees is the Junior Organ Scholar of Jesus College, Cambridge, where he is in his first year reading music. His role is to assist the Director of Music by accompanying the choirs, taking rehearsals, helping to train the choristers, and conducting the choirs.

Dewi was born in 1998 and became a chorister at Westminster Abbey at the age of seven, where he sang in daily services as well as at events such as Pope Benedict XVI's visit to London in 2010 and the wedding of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge in 2011. During his time at the Abbey he also played the trumpet and the piano, and was subsequently awarded a Music Scholarship to The King's School, Canterbury.

Dewi started learning the organ in his second year at King's, taught by David Newsholme. He frequently accompanied the school choirs for their weekly services in Canterbury Cathedral and in his final year played continuo for performances of J.S. Bach's St John Passion in Canterbury Cathedral and the Église Saint-Jacques in Reims, as well as a performance of Britten's St Nicolas with the Festival Chamber Orchestra directed by David Newsholme.

Dewi became an Associate of the Royal College of Organists in 2016, winning the Lord St Audries Prize, and has given organ recitals at venues including the Church of St Mary Magdalene, Newark, St George's Chapel, Windsor Castle, and Trinity College, Cambridge. He now studies the organ with Gordon Stewart and David Briggs.


Former Directors of Music

Former Organ Scholars

1998 Timothy Byram-Wigfield
2003 Daniel Hyde
2009 Mark Williams

1919 Adrian Edgar Lucius Burr
1924 John Gerald Hall
1929 Joseph Weston Poole
1929 Thomas Quibell
1932 Vernon Harcourt Rhodes
1938 Hilary Clifton Kelynack
1946 James Donald Cox
1946 Eric William Copperwheat
1948 Peter Hurford
1952 Richard Lloyd
1954 Peter Gay Fletcher
1957 John Rosser Turner
1960 Michael Burnett
1963 David Sheeran Butterworth
1967 Robert Ernest Walker
1968 Michael Baker
1968 Terence Albright
1971 Julian Couzens
1972 Malcolm Archer
1975 James Robert Sydney Wrightson
1977 Henry Roderick Shaw
1979 James A. O’Donnell

1981 Stephen P.A. Young
1982 Geraint Bowen
1984 Christopher Argent
1985 David Swinson
1987 Andrew David King
1989 Timothy Horton
1990 Daniel Phillips
1992 Charles Harrison
1993 Duncan Aspden
1995 Gregory Morris
1996 Julian Thomas
1998 Thomas Corns
1999 Anthony Smith
2001 Samuel Gladstone
2002 James Kennerley
2004 David Humphreys
2005 Samuel Hanson
2008 Thomas Chatterton
(Assistant Organist)
2008 Timothy Lambourn
2010 Robert George Dixon
2011 Benjamin Morris
2013 Bertie Baigent

Hear from Choir members


Latest tweets